Nashville coaches named IBCA Coaches of the Year

The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association handed out its annual distinctions, and more than one local coach made the list.

A quartet of Nashville coaches were named on the IBCA Coaches of the Year. Hornet Coach Wayne Harre and Hornettes Coach Doug Althoff were honored as Illinois Boys and Girls High School Coaches of the Year respectively while Jr. Hornets Coach Will Reinburg and Jr. Hornettes Coach Tierney Moore received accolades at the junior high level.

Joe Kirby, coach for Trinity St. John/Immanuel Lutheran’s Titans, was also named a Junior High School Girls Coach of the Year. The Titans won their third consecutive regional championship.

While the 2021 season was shortened and did offer a typical postseason due to COVID-19 restrictions, Nashville teams performed exceptionally well. The Hornets went 13-1 this spring season and went 10-0 in conference play. During this season, Coach Harre earned his 500th career win. He resigned following the season.

The Hornettes finished 12-2 this year and shared a piece of the Southern Illinois River-to-River Mississippi conference crown.

Nashville Middle School also received hardware. Both the boys and girls teams were undefeated and earned regional championship trophies. In the last 20 years, NMS has won a total of 35 SIJHSAA State trophies, 10 SIJHSAA State Championships, 47 SIJHSAA Regional Championships and 41 JSWEC Conference Titles.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: